Skip to content

Why I Sit on the Floor During Family Meals

Family mealtime has always been important to me. Yes, research shows that families who eat together tend to eat healthier meals and generally be happier. All of that is obviously great. But the fact is, I just like it. There’s something so communal about it. It offers a little bit of sacred togetherness during an otherwise crazy

Granted, with a 4-year-old and an 18-month-old, our meals are anything but relaxing. My husband and I often feel like we’re playing a game of Bop-It, jumping up and down to wipe up a spilled drink, pick up a dropped spoon, get more milk, etc.

So when my 18-month-old went on a full-on high chair strike, I knew something had to change. Keep in mind, over the years we’ve collected no less than 3 high chairs. The traditional kind, the one that attaches directly to our kitchen island and the booster seat that straps to a chair. All of these were suddenly completely unacceptable options. And not just “no, thank you” unacceptable. But “body-wrenching, blood-curdling scream” unacceptable.

Her first choice is a bar stool at our kitchen island. Due to its height and her poor balance, this isn’t going to be okay with me anytime soon. Her next choice is a chair at our dining room table. We gave that a try until mid-way through a game of dinner time Bop-It, I heard that dreaded THUD and found her face down on the floor. Ouch. Her third choice is sitting on my lap. Yes, affectionate and sweet, but simply not practical for the long-term.

So that brings us to the kiddie table. And now, here I am, on the floor, just so I can enjoy a meal with my little ones. Comfy? Not exactly. But we’re happy.

Family mealtime, from my vantage point on the floor

Family mealtime, from my vantage point on the floor

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

